Research

The Kurtz group

Development, structure and function of renin secreting cells of the kidney

The protease renin is the regulatory key enzyme of the renin-angiotensin-aldosterone system (RAAS). Renin is mainly produced and secreted by the juxtaglomerular cells of the afferent arterioles of the kidneys. RAAS activity regulates extracellular salt and blood pressure homeostasis. Uncontrolled stimulation of renin synthesis and renin secretion is a clinically relevant reason for hypertension, edemas, vascular and kidney damage. The renin secreting cells of the kidney display several unusual characteristics, which are not yet understood. Thus, it is not clear how renin cells develop and differentiate from the metanephric mesenchyme. Renin cells, moreover, show a very high degree of plasticity leading to reversible 20-fold changes of the number of renin cells depending on the challenge of the RAAS. Renin cells first synthesize enzymatically inactive prorenin, which is sorted into huge electron dense lysosome related organelles, in which prorenin gets proteolytically activated to renin by a yet undefined protease. Renin is then released from these vesicles by a mode of secretion that is not yet completely understood. Finally, the release of renin is inversely related to the extracellular concentration of calcium, what stands in clear contrast to the classical stimulatory effect of calcium in endo- and exocrine cells.

Our running projects deal with these open questions.


Running projects

Mechanisms of renin cell hyperplasia

Genetic defects of the RAAS lead to a strong compensatory hyperplasia of renin cells, which then form cellular multilayers around afferent arterioles. The number of these ectopic, hyperplastic renin cells is strongly dependent on the rate of oral salt intake, in the way that high salt intake suppresses the cells, whilst low salt intake stimulates the formation of these cells. To investigate the mechanisms underlying the salt dependent formation of hyperplastic renin cells we use as a model mice lacking aldosterone-synthase. Using those mice we investigate the roles of cell proliferation and of apoptosis of renin cells and we aim to characterize the mediators that regulate these processes.

Renin (green) und smooth muscle actin (red) in kidney section G, glomerulus; aa, afferent arteriole; ea, efferent arteriole; RC, renin cell; RCC, perivascular renin cell cluster

Reference: Kurt B, Karger C, Wagner C, Kurtz A. Control of renin secretion from kidneys with renin cell hyperplasia. Am J Physiol Renal Physiol. 2014 Feb 1;306(3):F327-32.


Role of hypoxia inducible transcription factor 2 (HIF-2) for renin cell differentiation

Based on our previous observation that deletion of the von Hippel Lindau protein in juxtaglomerular renin secreting cells suppresses renin expression and induced expression of the hormone erythropoietin, we now try to elucidate the cellular mechanisms triggering this striking phenotype change and thus do essentially interfere with renin cell differentiation. We meanwhile know that stabilization of the transcription factor HIF-2 is centrally involved in the phenotype shift. We now investigate which signal pathways are affected by HIF-2 stabilization and may therefore be involved in fetal renin cell differentiation.

In situ-hybridizations (ISH) for renin-mRNA and erythropoietin-mRNA in kidneys of a wildtyp mouse and of a mouse with deletion of von Hippel Lindau protein in juxtaglomerular cells Stars mark glomeruli, arrow heads highlight positive ISH signals.

Reference: Kurt B, Paliege A, Willam C, Schwarzensteiner I, Schucht K, Neymeyer H,Sequeira-Lopez ML, Bachmann S, Gomez RA, Eckardt KU, Kurtz A. Deletion of vonHippel-Lindau protein converts renin-producing cells into erythropoietin-producing cells. J Am Soc Nephrol. 2013 Feb;24(3):433-44.


Cell biology of renin secretion

Renin is stored in big electron-dense lysosome related organelles and is relased from them in a regulated fashion. The release of renin is oppositely regulated by the cAMP-signaling pathway (stimulatory) and a calcium related pathway (inhibitory). Using electron-microscopical analysis we have already described structural changes of the renin storage vesicle during controlled modulation of secretion. It is yet unclear along which pathways renin passes the cell membrane and which proteins of the classical exocytosis machinery could be involved. These questions will be investigated by detailed electron microscopy and protein biochemistry of isolated renin storage vesicles.

a) elektron-microscopical (ELMI) analysis of renin storage vesicles
b,c) 3D-ELMI-reconstruction of single storage vesicles
d) 3D-ELMI-reconstruction of a renin cell. Non-interconnected vesicles are shown with individual colors.

Reference: Steppan D, Zügner A, Rachel R, Kurtz A. Structural analysis suggests that renin is released by compound exocytosis. Kidney Int. 2013 Feb;83(2):233-41.


Mechanisms of calcium triggered inhibition of renin secretion

Increases of the cytosolic concentration of calcium typically trigger, enhance and maintain secretory events. The release of renin, however is inhibited by calcium mobilizing hormones such as angiotensin II or endothelin in a strict dependency on extracellular calcium. Lowering of the extracellular concentration of calcium into the micromolar range strongly potentiates renin secretion. This particular behavior of renin secretion has coined the term “calcium paradox” of renin secretion. The mechanisms underlying this calcium paradox are still less understood. Another striking but unexplained observation in this context is that the potentiating effect of low extracellular calcium on renin secretion, but not the inhibitory action of calcium mobilizing hormones are strongly dependent on intact gap junction proteins (connexin 40). It is the aim of this project to unravel the mechanisms underlying the phenomenon of the calcium paradox of renin secretion.

Renin secretion from isolated perfused kidneys of a wildtype and a connexin 40 deficient mouse. After a control phase the catecholamine isoproterenol was added to the perfusate for the whole length of the experiment, what led to a stable stimulation of renin secretion. Addition of angiotensin II to the perfusate completely abolished the stimulatory effect of isoproterenol. Lowering of the extracellular concentration of calcium from 2 mMol/L(normal) to 1 μMol/L led to a strong overshooting release of the inhibitory effect of angiotensin II on renin secretion in wildtype kidneys, but only to a moderate disinhibtion of renin secretion in connexin 40 deficient kidneys.

References:
Wagner C, de Wit C, Kurtz L, Grünberger C, Kurtz A, Schweda F. Connexin40 is essential for the pressure control of renin synthesis and secretion. Circ Res.2007
Schweda F, Friis U, Wagner C, Skott O, Kurtz A. Renin release. Physiology (Bethesda). 2007 Oct;22:310-9. Review


Methods

Molecular biology In vitro In vivo

The Wagner group

Recruitment of renin producing cells in the kidney

The protease renin is predominantly produced in the juxtaglomerular epitheloid cells in the media layer of afferent arterioles nearby the vascular pole of the glomerulus. However, this classic localisation is only a characteristic of the adult kidney. During renal development renin is found in the wall of larger preglomerular vessels till the renal artery. With ongoing maturation of the kidneys renin synthesis stops in the large vessels and finally becomes more and more restricted to the juxtaglomerular position.
In the adult kidney renin cells change their quantity subject to the degree of stimulation of the renin system, whereas cells switch on renin synthesis in retrograde sections of the afferent arterioles, but also in cells of larger arteries.

Renin synthesis (green fluorescence) in the wall of the afferent arteriole (red fluorescence shows alpha-smooth muscle cell actin as vessel marker) under control conditions (A) and in recruited cells after stimulation of the RAAS system(B).

The mechanisms switching the renin expression during nephrogenesis on or off or leading to the retrograde recruitment in the adult kidney are unknown.
The aim of our group is to investigate the physiological role of important local and systemic regulators of the renin system for recruitment of renin producing cells in the fetal and the adult kidney. Particularly, the meaning of classic regulators such as the cAMP pathways, cyclooxygenase 2 or ANG II should be characterized. Especially the role of gap junctions should be considered, which are numerously found between renin producing cells themselves but also between endothelial cells and renin producing cells.

Main projects

Characterisation of the spatiotemporal development of renin expression in kidneys of wildtype mice.
From the data received we aimed to characterize renin expression in the normal developing mouse kidney to establish a reference system for investigations in mice with defined genetic defects in regulatory genes of renin gene expression.

3D-reconstruction of renal vessel tree (red) and renin expression (green) in the developing mouse kidney at the embryonic stage E18.

Importance of the cAMP pathway for the recruitment of renin producing cells during renal development
using mouse models with the tissue-specific knockout of the Gs alpha protein in the renin-producing cells and with double knockout for ß1 and ß2 adrenergic receptors. First findings show, that the cAMP pathway is an essential factor for development of the renin system.

The importance of cell-cell communication for the recruitment of renin producing cells during renal development and in the adult kidney
using knockout mice deficient in the gap junction protein connexin 40 (Cx40). Our data show, that intercellular coupling via gap junctions essentially influences the recruitment of renin producing cells in the adult kidney.

Importance of nitric oxide (NO) for the recruitment of renin producing cells during renal development and in the adult kidney.
For this question renin expression is investigated in knockout mice deficient in endothelial NO synthase (eNOS).

Methods

In vivo analysis: In vitro techniques Molecularbiology/Biochemistry Optical analysis

Forschung

Arbeitsgruppe Kurtz

Entwicklung, Struktur und Funktion reninbildender Zellen der Niere

Die Protease Renin ist das Schlüsselenzym des Renin-Angiotensin-Aldosteron-Systems (RAAS). Renin wird im Körper hauptsächlich von den juxtaglomerulären Epitheloidzellen (JG-Zellen) in den afferenten Arteriolen der Niere gebildet. Das RAAS regelt die Homoöstase der Extrazellulärvolumens und des Blutdrucks. Eine inadäquate Aktivierung der Reninsynthese und –sekretion stellt einen klinisch bedeutsamen Pathogenesefaktor bei Hypertonie, Ödeme, Gefäßveränderungen, und Nierenschäden dar. Die reninbildenden Zellen weisen Besonderheiten auf, deren Mechanismen noch weitgehend unverstanden sind. Zum einen ist noch unklar, wie sich reninbildende Zellen aus nephrogenen Mesenchym heraus entwickeln. Zum anderen weisen reninbildende Zellen eine außergewöhnliche Plastizität auf, so dass sich die Zahl der reninbildenden bedarfsorientiert reversibel um das 10-20 fache ändern kann. Das von den Zellen produzierte Prorenin wird in große lysosomenähnliche Vesikel gepackt, worin Prorenin proteolytisch zu Renin aktiviert wird und daraus dann geregelt freigesetzt wird. Der Freisetzungsmechanismus von Renin aus den Zellen ist derzeit auch noch spekulativ. Schließlich wird die Freisetzung von Renin durch extrazelluläres Kalzium gehemmt, was in starkem Gegensatz zu den klassischen Sekretionsmechanismen endo- und exokriner Zellen steht.

An diesen noch ungeklärten Aspekten orientieren sich die einzelnen konkreten Arbeitsprojekte.


Aktuelle Projekte

Mechanismen der Reninzellhyperplasie

Genetische Defekte des RAAS führen zu einer starken kompensatorischen Hyperplasie von reninbildenden Zellen, die ektop in mehrschichtigen Zelllagen um afferente Arteriolen herum angeordnet sind. Die Zahl dieser ektopen hyperplastischen Reninzellen ist dabei stark und reversibel durch die orale Salzzufuhr modulierbar, wobei salzarme Ernährung die Ausbildung der Zellen fördert, während salzreiche Ernährung sie unterdrückt. Am Modell der Aldosteronsynthase-defizienten Maus, welche eine ganz deutliche salzabhängige Ausbildung hyperplastischer Reninzellen aufweist, sollen die zugrunde liegenden Mechanismen untersucht werden. Zum einen soll bestimmt werden, welche Rolle Zellproliferation und Apotose dabei spielen, zum anderen soll bestimmt werden über welche Mediatoren die Salzzufuhr kausal eine solch profunde Wirkung auf die Zahl der reninbildenen Zellen ausübt.

Renin (grün) und Glattmuskelaktin (rot) in Nierenschnitten G, Glomerulus; aa, afferente Arteriole; ea, efferente Arteriole; RC, Reninzelle; RCC, perivaskuläres Reninzellcluster.

Literatur: Kurt B, Karger C, Wagner C, Kurtz A. Control of renin secretion from kidneys with renin cell hyperplasia. Am J Physiol Renal Physiol. 2014 Feb 1;306(3):F327-32.

Karger C, Kurtz F, Steppan D, Schwarzensteiner I, Machura K, Angel P, Banas B,Risteli J, Kurtz A. Procollagen I-expressing renin cell precursors. Am J Physiol Renal Physiol. 2013 Aug 1;305(3):F355-61.


Bedeutung des hypoxieinduzierten Transkriptionsfaktors (HIF-2) für die Reninzelldifferenzierung

Ausgehend von unserer initialen Beobachtung, dass Ausschaltung des von Hippel Lindau Proteins in juxtaglomerulären reninbildenden Zellen der Niere die Reninexpression unterdrückt und gleichzeitig die Expression des Hormones Erythropoietin induziert, gehen wir den zellulären Mechanismen nach, welche diesen auffälligen Phänotypwechsel vermitteln und damit elementar in die Differenzierung der reninbildenden Zellen eingreifen. Ein gesichertes Zwischenergebnis hierbei ist, dass dieser Phänotypwechsel essentiell durch eine Stabilisierung des HIF-2 vermittelt wird. Welche Signalwege der Zell(de)differenzierung damit aktiviert bzw. gehemmt werden und welche Rolle der HIF-2 generell bei der fötalen Reninzellentwicklung spielt, wird in diesem Projekt untersucht.

In situ-Hybridisierungen (ISH) für Renin-mRNA und Erythropoietin-mRNA in Nieren einer Wildtyp Maus und einer Maus mit Deletion des von Hippel Lindau Proteines in juxtaglomerulären Zellen. Stern markiert Glomerulus, Pfeilspitzen weisen auf positive ISH Signale hin.

Literatur: Kurt B, Paliege A, Willam C, Schwarzensteiner I, Schucht K, Neymeyer H,Sequeira-Lopez ML, Bachmann S, Gomez RA, Eckardt KU, Kurtz A. Deletion of vonHippel-Lindau protein converts renin-producing cells into erythropoietin-producing cells. J Am Soc Nephrol. 2013 Feb;24(3):433-44.


Zellbiologie der Reninsekretion

Die aktive Protease Renin wird in großen elektronendichten, lysosomenähnlichen Vesikeln gespeichert und daraus in regulierter Weise freigesetzt. Die Freisetzung von Renin aus den Vesikeln wird antagonistisch über den cAMP-Signalweg (aktivierend) und einen Kalzium-vermittelten Signalweg (hemmend) reguliert. Wir konnten mittels Elektronenmikroskopie bereits die Veränderungen der Vesikel bei kontrollierter Modulation der Sekretion beschreiben. Unklar geblieben ist dabei immer noch, ob der Vesikelinhalt die Zelle über klassische Exozytose verlässt und welche Proteine der klassischen Exozytosemaschinerie dabei kausal beteiligt sein könnten. Diese Fragen sollen mittels weiterführender Elektronenmikroskopie und proteinchemischer Analyse der Vesikel untersucht werden.

a) Elektronenmikroskopische Darstellung von Reninspeichervesikeln
b,c) 3D-ELMI-Rekonstruktion einzelner Reninspeichervesikel
d) 3D-ELMI-Rekonstruktion einer Reninzelle. Nicht miteinander verbundene Speichervesikel sind durch unterschiedliche Farben markiert.

Literatur: Steppan D, Zügner A, Rachel R, Kurtz A. Structural analysis suggests that renin is released by compound exocytosis. Kidney Int. 2013 Feb;83(2):233-41.


Mechanismus der kalziumabhängigen Hemmung der Reninsekretion

Sekretionsvorgänge werden in der Regel durch Kalzium ausgelöst, gefördert und unterhalten. Die Freisetzung von Renin hingegen wird durch kalziumobilisierende Hormone (z.B. Angiotensin II, Endothelin) potent gehemmt und durch eine Absenkung der extrazellulären Kalziumkonzentration stark aktiviert, was zum Begriff des „Kalziumparadoxes“ der Reninsekretion geführt hat. Dieses Kalziumparadox ist im Kern noch unverstanden und wird durch die Beobachtung, dass die stark sekretionssteigernde Wirkung einer erniedrigten Kalziumkonzentration, nicht aber die Hemmung der Sekretion durch Angiotensin II, strikt an das Vorhanden sein funktioneller Connexin 40 Proteine in reninbildenden Zellen gekoppelt ist, noch weiter kompliziert. Aufklärung der Wirkmechanismen von Kalzium auf die Reninsekretion ist daher Ziel dieses Projektes.

Reninsekretion aus den isoliert perfundierten Nieren einer Wildtyp und einer Connexin 40 defizienten Maus. Nach einer Kontrollphase wurde das Katecholamin Isoproterenol dauerhaft dem Perfusat zugesetzt, was zu einer Steigerung der Reninsekretion führt. Zugabe von Angiotensin II hebt die stimulierende Wirkung von Isoproterenol gänzlich auf. Erniedrigung der extrazellulären Kalziumkonzentration von 2 mMol/L auf 1 μMol/L führt zur stark überschießenden Aufhebung der Hemmwirkung von Angiotensin II auf die Reninsekretion von Wildtypnieren, aber nur zur moderaten Aufhebung der Hemmwirkung in Connexin 40 defizienten Nieren.

Literatur:
Wagner C, de Wit C, Kurtz L, Grünberger C, Kurtz A, Schweda F. Connexin40 is essential for the pressure control of renin synthesis and secretion. Circ Res.2007
Schweda F, Friis U, Wagner C, Skott O, Kurtz A. Renin release. Physiology (Bethesda). 2007 Oct;22:310-9. Review


Methoden

Molekularbiologie In vitro In vivo

Arbeitsgruppe Wagner

Rekrutierung von reninbildender Zellen in der Niere

Die Protease Renin als Regulator des Renin-Angiotensin-Aldosteron-Systems wird in der Niere von den juxtaglomerulären Epitheloidzellen in der Media der afferenten Arteriolen unmittelbar am Gefäßpol gebildet. Diese klassische Lokalisation ist allerdings nur in der adulten Niere typisch. Während der Nierenentwicklung findet man Reninexpression auch in der Wand größerer präglomerulärer Gefäße bis hin zur Nierenarterie, wobei mit fort-schreitender Reifung diese Gefäße die Reninsynthese einstellen und diese letztendlich im Adultzustand nur in juxtaglomerulärer Position erhalten bleibt. Auch in der adulten Niere ändert sich die Zahl reninbildener Zellen parallel zum Stimulationsgrad des Reninsystemes, wobei Zellen retrograd in den afferenten Arteriolen, aber auch in größeren Arterien zur Reninsynthese rekrutiert werden.

Reninsynthese (grüne Fluoreszenz) in Zellen in der Wand der afferenten Arteriole (rote Fluoreszenz: alpha-smooth muscle cell actin als Gefäßmarker) unter Kontrollbedingungen (A) und nach Stimulation des RAAS-Systems (B) in retrograd rekrutierten Zellen der afferenten Arteriole.

Bislang ist nicht geklärt, wie reninbildende Zellen während der Entwicklung entstehen oder in der adulten Niere neu mit der Reninsynthese starten und welche Faktoren diese Rekrutierungsprozesse steuern.
Die Arbeit unserer Gruppe konzentriert sich auf die physiologische Rolle von wichtigen lokalen und systemischen Regulatoren des Reninsystemes bei der Rekrutierung von reninbildenden Zellen in der fötalen und in der adulten Niere untersucht werden. Insbesondere soll die Bedeutung klassischer Regulationsfaktoren wie der cAMP-Signalweg, die Cyclooxygenase 2 und Angiotensin II für das An- und Abschaltung der Reninsynthese in Zellen charakterisiert werden. Speziell wird auch die Rolle von Gap junctions betrachtet, welche sowohl zwischen reninbildenden Zellen als auch zwischen Endothel und reninbildenden Zellen zahlreich ausgebildet sind.

Aktuelle Projekte

Charakterisierung des zeitlich-räumlichen Musters der Reninexpression während der Nephrogenese der normalen Niere.
Diese Daten sollen vor allem dazu dienen, ein Referenzsystem zu etablieren, das Untersuchungen an Knockout Mäusen mit genetischem Defekt für bestimmte Regulatorgene der Reningenexpression erlaubt und so ermöglicht Faktoren zu identifizieren, die die Entwicklung der Reninexpression steuern.

3D-Rekonstruktion des renalen Gefäßbaumes (rot) und der Reninexpression (grün) der fötalen Mausniere am Embryonaltag E18.

Charakterisierung der Bedeutung des cAMP -Signalweges für die Rekrutierung von reninbildenden Zellen während der Nierenentwicklung
in Mäusen mit reninzellspezifischem Knockout des Gs-alpha Protein und in Mäusen mit Doppelknockout des ß1 und ß2-Rezeptors. Erste Resultate weisen darauf hin, dass der cAMP Signalweg einen wesentlichen Faktor bei der Entwicklung des Reninsystemes darstellt.

Charakterisierung der Bedeutung von gap junctions für die Rekrutierung von reninbildenden Zellen während der Nierenentwicklung und in der adulten Niere
in Mäusen mit Knockout für das gap junction Protein connexin 40 (Cx40). Unsere Daten zeigen, dass die interzelluläre Kopplung über Cx40-gap junctions die Rekrutierung von reninbildenden Zellen in der adulten Niere maßgeblich beeinflusst.

Bedeutung von Stickstoffmonoxid (NO) für die Rekrutierung von reninbildenden Zellen während der Nierenentwicklung und in der adulten Niere.
Für diese Fragestellung wird die Reninexpression in Knockout-Modellen mit genetischem Defekt der endothelialen NO-Synthase (eNOS) untersucht.

Methoden

In vivo Experimente In vitro Techniken Molekularbiologie/Biochemie Optische Analysen