Group Prof. Dr. M. Thomm
Coworkers: Annette Keese


Regulation of heat shock response in Pyrococcus furiosus

 

The main focus of this project is on the Pyrococcus heat shock regulator, Phr.
It was described to be the first archaeal regulator of heat shock response (Vierke, G., Engelmann, A., Hebbeln, C. and Thomm, M. (2003) J. Biol. Chem. 278, 18-26).
The regulator Phr represses the transcription of the heat shock genes hsp 20 and of aaa+ atpase. Furthermore Phr inhibits the transcription of its own gene.
EMSAs and footprinting data were used to analyse the mechanism of regulation. They show that Phr binds to the promoter downstream of the transcription factors TBP and TFB. Phr overlaps the transcription start site and inhibits the association of the polymerase and the transcription of the gene.

 

 

Recently the crystal structure of Phr was solved (Liu W., Vierke G., Wenke A., Thomm M. and Ladenstein R. (2007) J. Mol. Biol. 369, 474-488).
The N-terminal part of Phr consists of a winged helix DNA binding domain (wH-DBD) and the C-terminal part of an antiparallel coiled coil helical domain.

To obtain more information about the heat shock response of Pyrococcus furiosus all genes regulated by Phr should be identified. In vitro transcription and microarray analysis were conducted functional in the ROMA approach (Thomm (2007) Archaea: Molecular and Cellular Biology, Edited by Ricardo Cavicchioli, ASM Press, Washington, D.C.)
Restricted chromosomal DNA of Pyrococcus furiosus was transcribed in vitro in the presence and absence of Phr. The RNA was labelled with different fluorescent dyes and hybridized to a whole genome microarray. The transcription of the heat shock genes for example was repressed in the presence of the repressor in the transcription reaction. The comparison of transcriptions with and without regulator allowed the identification of regulated genes.
The microarray analysis was done in cooperation with Dr. Gerrit Schut, Laboratory of Prof. Dr. Mike Adams, University of Georgia, Athens.

Arbeitsgruppe Prof. Dr. M. Thomm
Mitarbeiter an diesem Thema: Annette Keese



Die Regulation der Hitzeschockantwort bei Pyrococcus furiosus

Im Mittelpunkt dieses Projektes steht der Pyrococcus heat shock regulator, Phr.
Er wurde von unserer Arbeitsgruppe als das erste archaeelle Regulatorprotein der Hitzeschockantwort beschrieben (Vierke, G., Engelmann, A., Hebbeln, C. and Thomm, M. (2003) J. Biol. Chem. 278, 18-26).
Der Regulator Phr hemmt die Transkription der Hitzeschockgene hsp 20 und aaa+ atpase. Außerdem hemmt Phr auch die Transkription seines eigenen Gens.
Durch EMSAs und Footprint Experimente konnte die Wirkungsweise von Phr aufgeklärt werden. Es wurde gezeigt, dass Phr auf dem Promotor direkt stromabwärts der ebenfalls an den Promotor bindenden archaeellen Transkriptionsfaktoren TBP und TFB bindet. Phr überlagert dabei den Transkriptionsstartpunkt und verhindert so die Bindung der Polymerase und damit die Transkription des Gens.

 

 

Vor kurzem wurde die Kristallstruktur von Phr veröffentlicht (Liu W., Vierke G., Wenke A., Thomm M. and Ladenstein R. (2007) J. Mol. Biol. 369, 474-488).
Der N-terminale Teil besteht aus einer winged helix DNA binding domain (wH-DBD), während der C-terminale durch eine lange a-Helix charakterisiert ist.

Um mehr Informationen über die Hitzeschockantwort von Pyrococcus furiosus zu erhalten, sollten in einem weiteren Projekt alle Gene, die von Phr reguliert werden, identifiziert werden.
Dies erfolgte durch eine Kombination von in vitro Transkription und Microarray Analyse; ROMA-Ansatz (Thomm (2007) Archaea: Molecular and Cellular Biology Edited by Ricardo Cavicchioli, ASM Press, Washington, D. C.)
Dazu wurde fragmentierte, chromosomale DNA von Pyrococcus furiosus mit und ohne Phr in vitro transkribiert. Die transkribierte RNA wurde mit unterschiedlichen Fluoreszenzfarbstoffen markiert und mit einem Microarray, der das gesamte Genom enthielt, hybridisiert. Die Transkription von zum Beispiel den Hitzeschockgenen wurde von Phr gehemmt. Durch den Vergleich einer Transkription ohne und einer Transkription mit Regulator konnten weitere Gene, die von Phr reguliert werden, identifiziert werden.
Die Microarray Analysen erfolgten in Kooperation mit Dr. Gerrit Schut, Arbeitsgruppe Prof. Dr. Mike Adams, University of Georgia, Athens.